Tenderness - CD

Regular price $ 11.98

JD Souther will release his new album Tenderness via Sony Music Masterworks May 12, 2015.

Produced by Larry Klein (Joni Mitchell, Madeleine Peyroux, Melody Gardot, Herbie Hancock), Tenderness continues the new path in sound and style that he has forged since his return to recording in 2008; but at the same time, the album is unlike anything he has previously recorded. Joining Souther on guitar and vocals are longtime collaborators pianist Chris Walters and saxophonist Jeff Coffin; as well as new friends, vocalist Lizz Wright and trumpet master Till Brönner. Jazz piano legend and recent Grammy Award winner Billy Childs is on board as well; he also has arranged the elegant and searing strings on half the album’s tracks.

On Tenderness, Souther balances his pop and jazz sensibilities paying particular homage to his earliest influences, the geniuses of the 20th Century Great American Songbook, while maintaining the signature qualities that have made him one of the true contemporary giants of American song.  

This album is available for preorder and will ship on or around May 12th, 2015.


  1. Come What May
  2. Something in the Dark
  3. This House
  4. Let's Take a Walk
  5. Dance Real Slow
  6. Show Me What You Mean
  7. Horses in Blue
  8. Need Somebody
  9. Downtown (Before The War)